Return to the Parents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
how do you teach a child to...

Posted by debbie5 (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 2, 02 at 11:40

Blow their own nose, and
tie their shoes?

DD is 4 3/4, and she tries to blow her nose (she gets lots of sinus infections despite humidifier, etc)and nothing comes out. Should I have her press one nostril closed to get more "blow force"?

And the shoe thing..I am clueless. I thought kids never learned from an adult: some kind of magic mojo that they could only be taught by another kid to tie their shoes?? LOL

d5

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: how do you teach a child to...

As far as blowing your nose, doesn't everyone hold one nostril closed and then the other? I tried to do it without holding one closed and I couldn't get it to work, either.

I'm a teacher and I've taught many children to tie their shoes. I sit next to them if they are left-handed, like me, or I sit across from them if they are right-handed so they can mirror my movements. I break it down into steps and put simple words with the steps (like cross over and then put the string under). You may tie differently than I do, so you will have to figure out your steps. Then I go over it and over it every time the shoes come untied or need to be put on. The shoes will come untied a lot in the beginning because children have a hard time making the bow tight enough to hold for long. Resist the urge to "fix" it once the child has tied it. Before long, maybe a week or so, your child will be able to tie without help. Be prepared to sit down and demonstrate many times before it clicks.

Good luck,
Janet

o

I taught my kids myself. But I note some parents teaching how to tie by making a knot, then turn the two tails into long loops and knot the loops. Seems the quickest way to tie shoes yet.

o

From an early age we blew noses by "sniffing like a bunny". I would hold one side closed while they sniffed. Worked well.