Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jaidog_gw

My Baseboard Painting Experience

jaidog
10 years ago

Prior to installation, I painted my primed pine baseboards with BM Regal Semi-Gloss. As an experiment, I used a brush for half of the baseboards and a roller for the other half. The roller was 4" long with a 3/8" nap and made of microfiber.

Applying the paint with a brush was more time-consuming than using a roller, and I was surprised that the results were better with the roller. The brushed baseboards show minor brush marks (as expected) which are only noticeable upon close inspection. The rolled baseboards have a very slight 'orange-peel' look, again only noticeable if one is looking closely.

I did not expect the results from the roller to be as good as they are. This is my first time using a microfiber roller which may have made the difference. In the future, I will use the roller method. The only downside I foresee is that post-installation touch-ups will need to be done with a roller.

Comments (7)

• sombreuil_mongrel
    10 years ago

Hi,
    as often is the case, it's not an either/or; rather, roll on the paint for efficiency, and brush it out for a smooth finish. Because you are working faster, the paint is wetter, and brush marks are fewer.
    Casey

• paintguy22
    10 years ago

You can touch up with a brush but dab the paint on instead of actually brushing it out. The idea is to simulate the roller stipple. Anyway, since baseboards are near the ground, touch ups won't really show down there.

• jaidog
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I have a followup question regarding touch-ups of the baseboard following installation. I can do either:

First method:

1 - Caulk the gap between baseboard and wall.
    2 - Paint caulk which will result in baseboard paint on wall.
    3 - Tape top of baseboard.
    4 - Touch up wall just above baseboard.

Second method:

1 - Tape wall just above baseboard.
    2 - Caulk the gap between baseboard and wall.