Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrm54

Paint Sprayer Techniques

mrm54
11 years ago

Does anyone have any spray painting techniques they would like to share? I have a lot of experience painting but not with a sprayer. I have recently started repainting my kitchen cabinets and my dear spouse bought me a Graco TrueCoat Plus. What I am interested in is the best way to get a THIN coat of paint. Should I thin the paint and use the finer spray tip, use unthinned paint and use a medium spray tip or use the one they recommend? I am priming with Zinsser 123 on the inside of all the cabinets and using SW Adhesion Primer for the outside. Also using Cabinet Coat paint. I have the two tips it came with plus the one for medium paint, the 315. Thanks in advance.

Comments (6)

• kachinee
    11 years ago

I was considering spray painting my cabinets but after several tests, I found that I could do an equally good job by rolling them with a 3" white foam roller and applying thin and very quick coats of GF milk paint and then GF water based high performance satin poly.

The thin coat is easily done because those products are water based and the fast drying time means that you won't leave brush/roller marks.

I am not a professional so take this advice or leave it.

In my own recent experience, I paited kitchen cabs with far less muss and fuss rolling rather than spraying.
    I started by quickly painting a thin coat on the edge and crevices of the door (where the roller would not get into) and then followed up with the foam rollerl, first applying pressure and finishing with almost no pressure on the roller. No more than about a minute per door total, then get off of it and let it dry. Ready for sand recoat in 1.5-2 hours which means you can continually work if you are doing several doors. By the time you are done sanding and coating several doors it isn't long before you are ready to do a second coat over your first one.