Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
m2dougherty

Difficulty With Modern paint

m2dougherty
12 years ago

I have been painting my own homes for 33 years. I have also had work done by professionals. My favorite professional is too busy to help me with my current project.

My husband built a new mantel for our dining room fireplace. It is faithful to the period of our house which was built in 1903.

I am accustomed to using oil paint on trim. Recognizing that the oil paints are disappearing due to the VOCs I chose a can of BVM Regal Select semi-gloss to paint out new mantel to match the rest of the room. I am using Simply White.

I sanded and primed the mantel which is not yet installed. I used a good Purdy brush and attempted to apply a couple of coats of the BM paint. I am careful not to load the brush too much. I have had a terrible time with the paint. It dries too quickly making it difficult to avoid brush strokes. I read online how the new paints much be brushed from the dry into the wet. I tried to do that. Even though the paint dries quickly it still manages to make drips on the edges which are difficult to correct without making a mess of the rest of the paint around it.

We went to the paint store to see if we should be using another type of paint. They still have the Satin Impervo in oil though I know that has changed from the old SI.

There is also a new hybrid oil/waterborne product called Advance. The owner of the store told us that he had some painters working with Advance in his house now. He feels that it drips all over the place and sags. I watched a demo of this paint on the BM site. It looked like a good product to me.

My husband bought some of the BM extender to help make the RS flow better and be less sticky. He sanded off what I had already done and did pretty well on the first coat. The second coat he may have thinned too much as it dripped here and there and he failed to see the drips before it dried.