Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happycthulhu

Preperation for painting the outside of my house.

happycthulhu
17 years ago

My house is a craftsman style house complete with all the rafter tails and roof overhangs.

Every scrap of wood on the house is painted in this awful Pepto Bismol pink color.

There is lots of chipping and places where the paint is completly off.

My questions is, do I have to completely remove all traces of the old paint before I start putting a new color on?

Or, can I just scrape off the obvious bad parts and paint over the rest?

If I just scrape the bad parts and paint over, will it look obvious or will the new paint hide that?

Lastly, can I get tinted primer? And, how long after I prime do I have to start painting? (I have 37 windows to repair and prime and that might take a while to finish.)

Here is a link that might be useful: My Old Home

Comments (6)

• jim4safety
    17 years ago

I will preface this response in saying that I am not an expert, but have done my share of research and painting over time.

You do not need to remove all the old paint. You can leave any paint that is adhered firmly. When in doubt, remove. If the old paint is an oil base then I would recommend applying a primer and then coating with a latex paint. You could reapply with an oil base paint, but applying the primer and then a good quality latex paint will be worth the extra effort. How can you tell if the old paint is latex or oil base? Well, I can't really answer that one, but maybe you already know.