Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canishel

More smooth ceiling questions

canishel
9 years ago

The last paint job resulted in a rough-textured finish because of the paint, not because of an intentional texture. So I have sanded the ceiling as best I could without getting to drywall. Now sections of the surface look like pock marks, but better than the previous mini stalactites.

If I spread a thin coat of joint compound over the rough patches and sand to blend in with the smoother patches, will the compound stick? I am trying to avoid mudding the entire ceiling.

Or, will a high build primer (over the entire ceiling) fill in the pock marks? I would be using a roller.

Which would result in less sanding dust? I know I will have to do some sanding.

I am a slow painter. If I apply primer and subsequent paint, each with extender, with a 3/4" nap and roll with a 1/4" nap, will that solve the stippling problem? Is there time to use this technique before the primer and/or paint become tacky? I am not interested in a paper-smooth finish.

I do not have a sprayer, nor do I know how to use one.

The original paint was a BM product. We have a Farrell Calhoun store here and I would like to try their products. What do you think?

Any other suggestions or comments are welcome. I do not know what else to ask.

Thanks.

Comments (6)

• coll_123
    9 years ago

No, more paint or primer is not going to fill in the depressions....remember gravity is a factor here too,,,which I guess might explain the previous stalactites. Kind of scratching my head on that, I must admit.

I would skim the whole ceiling with joint compound, personally. I recently did that in a room with heavy orange peel texture on the walls. I bought a sander attachment that hooked onto my shop vac and found that it worked surprisingly well to minimize dust.

I also tried one of those sponges for " wet sanding" joint compound....I didn't care for that as much, but it might be acceptable on a ceiling.