Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brystersmom

What brush to use with Ace Cabinet paint???

brystersmom
14 years ago

I'm just getting started with these forums...so much great info! I need a bit of help with paint brushes. I have started to paint all of the ugly 1980's golden oak trim, doors, built-ins, etc in my home with the Ace Cabinet Door and Trim paint. I really like it, but I'm having issues with visable brush strokes. The paint manager at my local Ace suggested the Wooster nylon/poly blend brush. I bought one, but I'm not liking it. I would love any assistance/advice on the best brush to use with the Ace paint. Faron, if you're out there, can you help? You seem to be the expert when it comes to the Ace paint.

Comments (20)

• Faron79
    14 years ago

Hello Brystersmom!

Wooster (as does everyone!) has a lot of those bristle-blends. Which exact brush-series did'ja get?

If you were here in Fargo (!), I would've suggested the newer Purdy Chinex, or a Corona (harder to find...) Chinex.
    * The Purdy Chinex's are in the ACE warehouse system now, as of summer '09. Avg retail ~ $12-$20 ea., depending on size.
    * A very good 2nd choice would be the Purdy XL-Cub. This is a popular brush here! It has a "stubby" wood handle, enabling easy movement in tight areas. We get lots of good feedback on these!

Re the "brushstrokes".
    * Often impossible to TOTALLY eliminate, but...some hints include...
    * Paint in a cool area.
    * Use loooonnnnggg smooth stokes...don't "dust" with your brush.
    * The fewer the strokes...the better!
    * Don't brush same area past 1 minute...Literally.
    * Don't apply too thick, or too thin.
    * Once applied evenly...with minimal strokes...LEAVE IT ALONE. DO NOT go back into it even 2 minutes later.
    * If necessary, wait 24 hrs. if sanding is needed b4 2nd coat.....wellll, ya gotta wait 24 hrs. between coats anyway!
    * Apply 2nd coat same way.