Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
puzzlefan

Hi Temp Paint can it be used on a stove?

puzzlefan
11 years ago

The grates on my GE stove which have been a disaster from the first year of ownership are so bad now that I either have to replace them or paint them. Can I use a high temp paint safely for this project knowing they will be subjected to gas flames every day?

Comments (4)

• Pines Everywhere
    11 years ago

Puzzelfan -- I'm no expert but I've researched this HIGH HEAT paint issue recently because I need to freshen a Coleman Heater in my garage. The only product I've found is Rustoleum "Specialty" High Heat product and they have an ULTRA High Heat product. This only comes in brush-on black but spray can be purchased in Blk, White and Gray (at least). The regular high heat spray can says:

HIGH HEAT is a rough protective enamel that renews and protects surfaces subject to heat up to 1200 Degrees F. This rust preventative formula is ideal for: barbeque grills, woodstoves, radiators, firepits, fireplace screens, automotive parts and more.

So puzzelfan, notice all the out-doorish recommended uses. I don't think the open flames is an issue as much as "how hot" something good actually get. I do not know the maximum temp exerted by a Gas stove but you may want to check. I am going to investigate further too as I still have concerns about my Gas Heater which is subjected to a bit of Open Flame too on the grates.

Let me know if you learn anything and I'll watch the thread too!

• jessicaml
    11 years ago