Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
everlastb

man cave paint ideas

everlastb
13 years ago

I am working on turning my nasty old basement into a man cave but need serious help with painting suggestions. The ceilings are 7ft and the walls have knotty pine paneling. However the paneling is on the top portion of the walls. Please don't suggest removal and drywall because I'm a college student working on a VERY limited budget. I can't explain how much I hate knotty pine but I'm almost worried that painted knotty pine could somehow look worse. If it were on the bottom I would have painted it by now and played it off like its wainscoting. Do I paint the pine and if so what colors, or do I leave the pine and try to find a color that goes with that nasty amber?

Comments (6)

• everlastb
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Here is what I'm working with at the moment. Im installing the carpet soon as I can decide on paint. The carpet is an off white berber with green and maroon accents.

• annika_s
    13 years ago

Knotty pine (or "naughty" pine, as I call it) doesn't look bad at all when painted! I think it'd look much better than the amber stain.

Immediately when I saw the subject line "man cave paint ideas" I thought, graphite! I'm a woman...but I think a dark, dark gray would be awesome. It's masculine, but also nice and dark for video gaming and movies/TV to avoid glare.

You could easily put a charcoal color on the bottom and then a one-or-two-shades-lighter gray on top, or flip them and put the darker on top. I agree it's too bad the pine isn't on the bottom half...but still totally workable.

Scuff it and prime it with Zinsser BIN and wear a VOC respirator. That stuff works SO great on surfaces that might have a tendency to bleed through, plus it sticks and clings to anything! Just my $.02.

• paintergirl94
    13 years ago