Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
davisgard

How long does it take to paint a room?

davisgard
12 years ago

I'm a novice painter and I'm wondering if I can paint a smallish room in a 2-3 day weekend. Reading all the advice, it seems as if there is a lot of waiting time for drying between coats.

Here is what I'm thinking the steps are:

Prep room (move furniture, sand trim, dust walls, repair small holes)

Cut in on ceiling. Let dry (for an hour? 2-3 hours?). Cut in again. Let dry. Roll ceiling. Let dry. Roll ceiling again.

Paint trim. Let dry. Paint trim again. Wait overnight.

Tape trim and tape ceiling (because walls will be a different color). Will the ceiling be dry enough to tape?

Cut in walls. Let dry. Cut in walls again. Let dry. Roll walls. Let dry. Roll walls again.

Does that sound right? Is there a lot of waiting time? Should I try to paint two rooms at once?

Comments (8)

• randita
    12 years ago

Newer paints dry a lot quicker than the older ones did. Also the tape is better than it used to be-doesn't pull paint off surfaces as much as it used to do.

Your procedure sounds good, but while you are waiting for areas to dry, you can be painting other areas. E.G., while ceiling is drying, work on the trim. By the time you finish the trim, you'll be ready to go back to the ceiling.

I don't usually tape the ceiling unless I'm using a pretty dark color. I usually do it freehand so I don't worry about waiting for the ceiling to dry to tape it. But I think you'd want to wait at least a day to tape it.

If you can get the ceiling and trim done the first day, you should be able to do the rest the following day. You would have waiting time the second day between the two cut in wall coats and the two rolled wall coats. During that time, you could start in on another room-wall prep, ceiling/trim, I'd think.