Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aok27502

Technique for painting dark walls with white trim?

aok27502
12 years ago

I have to paint some areas where the wall paint is dark and the crown/base are white. She doesn't want the trim repainted. I used to be able to do it by hand, but my hand isn't steady enough, and my eyes aren't sharp enough any more. I never seem to have great luck with tape, so I would appreciate any tips on how to tape the trim. Thanks!

Comments (5)

• randita
    12 years ago

I sympathize with you. My hand is still steady enough, but the eyes-not good.

Are you painting the walls dark over a lighter paint? If so, here's what I would do. I'm not an expert, but I've done my fair share of painting and I've learned some tricks which work for me.

First, you need to make sure you totally cover up the lighter paint. Do this by painting a thin line of the white trim paint along the edge of the trim and over the lighter wall paint color (you may want to fine sand that edge first so the trim paint sticks well). You don't want any of the original paint color showing and this is the only way to guarantee that.

Allow a couple of days for that trim paint to dry. Using the Frog tape, tape along the edge of the trim (this will be harder on the crown molding-maybe you can get someone with better eyes to do that taping for you). Then press down the tape really well with a putty knife-a couple of times so you get a really tight seal.

Then paint the dark paint, try not to go too heavy with the paint into the tape line-but you probably know that already. When the paint is dry-half a day or so, remove the tape, You should get a nice crisp line.

Good luck.

• aok27502
    Original Author
    12 years ago