Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
candeelyn

oak cabinet stain looks terrible!

Candeelyn
10 years ago

Purchased unfinished oak cabinets 4 yrs ago for our kitchen. (@Lowes) I did light sanding, used wood conditioner and stained with cabot water stain in walnut gloss. Product now discontinued. There are a lot of uneven spots. I also used polyurethane on them. Now the stain is wearing off at "touch points" (where ppl touch them) and turning a greenish color.
I have tried sanding a bit and re-staining with minwax poly shades but some spots just don't seem to accept the stain. Has very uneven appearance. Also cannot get rid of the greenish on the sides and tops where ppl touch them. I am no pro but enjoy DIY. Not sure where to go from here and I'm freaking out.
Any suggestions? I don't want to destroy these cabinets!!

This post was edited by candeelyn on Fri, Jul 19, 13 at 11:18

Comments (25)

• Candeelyn
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here are some pics of my mess..

• Candeelyn
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here are some pics of my mess..

{{!gwi}}

• paintguy22
    10 years ago

Since there is poly in the stain in that PolyShades product, stain isn't going to work like a normal stain because there is goo in there. I would try some normal stain and then poly over your repairs/touch ups. It's not going to be easy though since you are not using the color that was used originally.

• Candeelyn
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Paint guy,
    Thanks. the pics show the original cabinet stain. I have door off of one that I used polystain on because when i researched google I got info that said using a darker minwax polyshade would cover them. I can post the pic but they look the same,, blotchy but darker shade... and didn't cover over greenish at all. So you are right about not being easy. I can try a regular stain but ...Starting to look like I have to strip and start over.(Ugh)

• paintguy22
    10 years ago