Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ritaweeda

Paint and Primer all in One...

ritaweeda
9 years ago

I'm not a pro so work with me. I decided to re-paint 2 wood rocking chairs for the front porch. They were originally painted white (latex) but it's been almost 10 years and were beginning to look bad. Since I also have a cast aluminum bench out there that has a very dark blue, nearly black color and I like the way it looks, I decided to paint the chairs the same color. I bought Glidden High Endurance Paint & Primer (exterior) Semi-gloss in the Admiral Blue. The color is gorgeous, exactly what I wanted. But I wound up putting 3 coats on and thought it looked great but the lighting was getting low. Now in better light I am still seeing streaks of the original white paint. I thought since it said there was a primer in the paint this would not be an issue. Do they not put opaque pigments in it since they are calling it a primer? I'm not a pro at paint but I do use Artist's paints and I do know that in Artist's paints there are transparent paints and opaque paints. Well, anyway, I'm going to keep trying to cover this but what should I have done? This color is great I would hate to have to completely redo it with another product.

Comments (14)

• paintguy22
    9 years ago

It's just a poor covering color and you are going over white. It has nothing to do with primer really. The paint and primer in one gimmick that all paint manufacturers are using this days is a lie. There isn't primer in there and even if there was, it wouldn't help with anything. It's just another way to say that the paint is self priming which all paints are anyway. The only thing you could have done is prime with a real primer tinted towards the color of your topcoat but what you are doing is just fine also. Some colors don't cover white in two coats....sometimes it takes three or more.

• ritaweeda
    Original Author
    9 years ago