Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rob_fleming6164357

Best Way to Choose Colors

Rob F.
11 years ago

Hi All: I bought a house from the bank. It came with an added bonus--squatters who won't leave. That is being worked out but I know that I want to paint the inside and out. Does anyone know of a good site that I can upload a picture of the house to and then try different colors. I though I uploaded a pic of the house here, but not sure. If so, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

washttp://www.realtyclique.com/dnlds/jstevenson/3000-W-Roxboro-Rd-NE/Web-Resolution/3000-W-Roxboro-Rd-NE-web-01.jpg/Users/robertfleming/Desktop/3000-W-Roxboro-Rd-NE-web-01.jpg

Comments (18)

• PRO
    Lori A. Sawaya
    11 years ago

I've been painting houses virtually for several years and I think I've tried every option available.

All the paint-a-room virtual painters have issues. They all have a learning curve that often proves too steep for some. If you're tech savvy, should be able to figure it out rather easily.

If you use one brand's offering for paint-a-room software, you're stuck with only their palette to work with. I would never BUY a brand's paint-a-room software.

Color By Numbers (CBN) from www.colorcharts.org costs $40 but it gives you oodles of paint brand's palettes to work with. Plus, it's easy and intuitive to use. Downside is it's only for PC not MAC.

A lot of colors to work with is important because painting virtually is in the additive color space - emitting colored light beams to your eyeballs. Real paint color is in real life which is the subtractive color space - reflecting color to your eyeballs.

Emitting vs. reflecting. The two color spaces NEVER sync up and match. Best you can do is try to ALIGN color you see on your monitor in those paint-a-room thingys to in-real-life color chips. And this is where having a bunch of colors to choose from comes into play.

My top three tips for painting virtually:

1. Zoom is your friend