Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynn_r_ct

Worth it to buy a power painter

lynn_r_ct
10 years ago

I have seen a number of projects in the shelter mags where "power painter" tools are used. I wondered whether I could just use an electric one or should I get one that uses a small compressor?

To be used for painting my new 6' mantel with lots of intricate detail and to repaint some cabinets that will be used as built-ins in the dining room so it is important that the applications be uniform.

TYIA

Comments (11)

• Pines Everywhere
    10 years ago

Tyia -- I am no professional but many on here are. I hope they weigh in with advice.

As an amatuer painter and DIYer ... I'd say don't bother. I've owned two electric sprayers and they've sucked. They get clogged, use way more paint than necessary and they never spray evenly (because of the clogging). For me ... an old fashioned brush and roller work best.

I have no experience with a Compressor version but I'm curious about their performance.

• lynn_r_ct
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I purchased an unfinished large mantel and legs(s) as I said, with lots of intricate detailling. When I primed it, no matter what size brush or roller I used, I either got runs or missed spots.

A friend suggested I take it to an auto body shop, but I don't think they would do this, but if so I can't imagine it would be inexpensive. I saw a show, which I believe was on HGTV where someone was using a small compressor paint system to repaint kitchen cabs. Once I finish this mantel project I have some really high end kitchen cabs I bought on CL for peanuts, which I planned to redo as built-ins for the DR.

I should do it all now while the DR is fairly gutted, that way I don't have to be concerned about weather and I can keep the cats away. The garage you say, hmmmm, I can barely walk in there, but that's hubbys' domain. I'll do more online research and talk with the guys at Lowes when I am there tomorrow (for whatever that's worth).