Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lyne921

Lighter Version of BM Twilight Gold

E K
12 years ago

After painting 6 swatches of various coffee/caramel beige colors on our master bedroom wall, I have narrowed my favorite down to Benjamin Moore's Twilight Gold. It has just the right amount of orange, yellow; there's no green or grey in it. The only problem is that it's too dark! BM is closed today and tomorrow and we are planning to color match/lighten at Home Depot using Behr paint. My question is whether anyone knows of a color that is one or two shades lighter than Twilight Gold. For example, if anyone has a BM fandeck, etc. or whether someone can provide a formula that I could follow. Should I ask Home Depot to use 75% or 50% concentration? I'm a novice at this, so so thanks in advance!

Comments (3)

• PRO
    Lori A. Sawaya
    12 years ago

I see a couple problems.

1. Twilight Gold 1069 is from the Classic Colors collection. Like most paint manufacturers, paint colors strips are NOT a literal stepping up from darkest color to lightest. It is not starting out with one dark color and then making 5 or 6 lighter versions of it on the strip.

All the colors on a typical paint color strip are literally different colors. Now, they are all on one strip because they have more characteristics and factors in common than not -- they are closely related. Could say they are all color children of the same hue parents.

It's a family thing, not a cloning thing.

It's not one color cloned into various degrees darkest to lightest.

That's why advice that states look at the darkest color on the strip and then 'go up to the 3rd or 4th color on the strip' and pick your color is SUPER BAD ADVICE.

With that said, a close family member that is lighter than Twilight Gold 1069 would be Squire Hill Buff 1068.