Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
decagon_gw

Best way to kill mold on wall before painting?

decagon
14 years ago

Hello everyone,

I'm a complete novice at painting and plan to paint my house interiors myself for the first time. I took down some wallpaper in a bathroom and a few days later some mold started growing in a small area. We had it professionally tested and luckily it was benign (Cladosporium and Penicillium). It's spreading a bit and I want to kill it in a manner that will prevent it from coming back before priming and painting. The bathroom has lathe and plaster walls, although we're patching some areas with new drywall.

I went to Home Depot and a paint dept employee told me to paint over it to "seal the mold in" because the paint chemicals would kill it. This does not sound correct to me. I'm thinking I should apply something topically to kill it before painting. I was going to use bleach but was warned that it isn't effective against mold on porous surfaces like walls.

I would appreciate any suggestions anyone could give on how to get rid of the wall mold permanently before priming and painting.

Many thanks,

Susan

Comments (6)

• PRO
    Christopher Nelson Wallcovering and Painting
    14 years ago

Bleach, etc. will not penetrate the drywall and will only kill the mold spores on the surface. The remaining spores can remain dormant inside the drywall until the next time when enough moisture exists for a "bloom". So, in addition to moisture control, a good priming with a pigmented shellac will block the mold spores into the drywall and reduce the likelihood of future damage.
    This was taken directly from another site.Moisture control is essential.

• weed_cutter
    14 years ago