Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iruehl_gw

Painting a table top...

IRuehl
11 years ago

I am going to be painting a table blue. I have photos on my blog of the table, and the room it will be in, Also have a few pictures of painted tables I really like on the bottom of the post.

Please, suggest colors you think would work with the room? Or even be close to some of my inspiration photos.

Anyone recommend a good type of paint that will hold up to my kids, toddlers? Should I use a polyurethane?

Thank you all!

Pictures...

http://wp.me/p1MmG7-fn

Here is a link that might be useful: Pictures

Comments (4)

• davisgard
    11 years ago

Have you considered using Annie Sloan Chalk Paint? I'm just getting started using it myself. I really do like the colors, and I'm a "blue" person myself. (There is Napoleonic Blue, Greek Blue, Louis Blue, and a blue green.)

I have been told it will be very durable on table tops (but I don't have experience with that yet myself), that once it is waxed (and the wax allowed to harden 30 days), it is a very durable surface that can be wiped.

It is certainly easy to use, with little to no prep over previously stained/varnished surfaces! And I like the finish a lot. It is rather like a milk paint finish--very flat before waxing, but with a depth of color.

Don't be scared by the price. At $38/quart, it is certainly pricey--but as many users note (and I have found), a quart goes a long way! You might even be able to get by with one coat plus a few touchups (I usually do two).

• jessicaml
    11 years ago

I haven't used chalk paint, but I generally see it mentioned on blogs with shabby chic furniture. To me, the OP's inspiration pics look glossy, clean, in-good-condition.

Do you have a sheen preference? I used Ace Cabinet and Trim on my kitchen cabinets and love it, but it's limited to semi-gloss (and darker colors take longer to dry).