Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mjocean

Help! Our painter ruined our new kitchen

mjocean
10 years ago

Hi,

This is my first time writing into the painting forum - I have been active on the kitchen and appliance forums.
Well, our painter ruined our beautiful natural cherry kitchen. We wanted the woodwork (trim and sliding doors) stained natural cherry to match the cabinets and he stained them walnut! We are not sure what he was thinking. This is a painter we have used in the past and have always been VERY pleased with his work. When we asked him if it could be bleached out and he said "not really".

I read an old post that suggested stain can be removed with stripping solvent, scraping and sanding. Is that the case? I would like to hear from folks who have done this successfully.

Thank you, I look forward to your responses.
MJ

Comments (11)

• lazy_gardens
    10 years ago

What did the contract or bid say?

If it said "cherry to match the cabinets", it's the painter's job to make it happen, not your job to fix it later at more expense.

• mjocean
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Lazygardens,

Our fault, no written contract, the first and last time we'll ever do that.

• graywings123
    10 years ago

You might want to post this on the Woodworking forum.

Did he just apply the stain or did he also put a finish coat of something over the stain?

Any pictures to show what the color difference is between the cherry you wanted and the walnut you got?

• paintguy22
    10 years ago

You might be able to rub some thinner on the stained surfaces to pull out some of the color and then stain with the correct color, but this is a long shot. If there is any finish on the trim, then it needs to be stripped or sanded down to raw wood, and with the labor time involved in something like that, you may want to consider just replacing the trim to see which route would be more cost effective.