Return to the Paint Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Painting kitchen cabinets

Posted by Kimbah (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 27, 11 at 17:25

Hello all!

I'm about to embark on the task of painting our 22 year old builders grade oak cabinets. I've read this site for days and the advice and tips are wonderful! I have a few questions that I need help with if possible:

1. I'm a painting novice, which paint would be best for me to work with? I've access to small BM and SW dealers, as well as big box HD and Lowes. I'm painting a dark chocolate color which seems to limit my paint choices due to the deep base needed. Would prefer to NOT use oil. Need something that will stand up to 4 young children.

2. I've seen Brushworks PDF mentioned numerous times but can't find it anywhere. Does anyone have a link to it?

3. Any opinions on deglosser vs. sanding?

Thanks for any help you can give!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Painting kitchen cabinets

Clean, clean, sand, clean,
apply oil based bonding primer( from a REAL paint store)
apply 2 coats of 100% acrylic latex( again from a REAL paint store)
I personally use Ben Moore ,Satin Impervo Water borne but their Aura is great also.
Go to the BM dealer and ask you're questions and buy you supplies, you'll be fine.

o

BM and SW are definitely easier to use than the big box, but make sure you get their best paint. I have a friend that swears by SW.

Sand for sure, it's a much better method than deglosser, plus 22 year old cabs will need it.

Good luck!!

o

This one ?

Here is a link that might be useful: http://www.squidoo.com/paintingcabinets

o

Thank you everyone!

Forboystoo - Not sure if that's the one but it's great!

o

That's the one.

o

Read the squidoo painting cabinets, have 2 questions

Why the caution against tsp as a cleaner?
If the previous surface is painted and not peeling, can one just clean and sand, or is a primer required?

o