Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimcoco

Primer over oil base paint - still need to sand/prepare surface?

kimcoco
13 years ago

Asking the professionals --

I'm repainting oil based painted trim in my bath with latex.

I am priming the oil base paint with latex primer, and then applying latex paint.

Do I still need to sand/prep the surface before I apply latex primer?

I've already tested with denatured alcohol to determine that it's oil based paint.

Comments (5)

• 4boys2
    13 years ago

I'm not a pro so I'll tune in later .......

I thought you had to use an oil based primer over oil based paint.
    I've been looking at the new Smart Prime by Zinzer that's water based but acts like an oil based.That probably doesn't count.

• jessicaml
    13 years ago

Ditto on the oil based primer over oil based paint. And yes, you'll still need to sand before priming, especially on oil base, until the surface is evenly dull.

• kimcoco
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I have to disagree about the primer. I go to a reputable paint store (not a box store) and also know a pro painter - I've been told that you can prime over oil based paint with a latex primer.

Whether I have to sand before priming with the latex primer is the real question.

• Faron79
    13 years ago

Hey KimC!

Yes...IDEALLY...do a thorough scuff-sand with 100-grit paper!
    It's the BEST way-period.

Also YES...Latex primers are perfect over Oil paints (AFTER SANDING!). It's done all the time. You CAN use an Oil primer as well...AFTER SANDING!
    >>> Obviously, Latex topcoats are ideal over either type of primer.

Sanding, in a sense, creates the "broom finish" that you need on sidewalks, so they're not slippery. Why don't you slip on broom-finish sidewalks??
    Obviously it's because of the "surface-profile" that's created.