Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lepetomane_gw

Oil vs latex on doors and trim

LePetomane
10 years ago

My bathroom remodel is close to finished and I need to paint doors and trim. A few years ago I repainted my kitchen cabinets with BM latex and haven't been too happy with the long term results- even though I let the doors cure for a month, I still have problems with sticking and chipping. Therefore, I'm toying with the idea of using oil, but I'm leery as I've never used it before. Ease of clean-up aside, what are the pros and cons? How much do additives like Floetrol improve latex performance? Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments (7)

• PRO
    Christopher Nelson Wallcovering and Painting
    10 years ago

oil will yellow over time

• jellytoast
    10 years ago

I've heard that you should specify a "non-blocking" paint to prevent sticking.

• paintguy22
    10 years ago

Oil or latex, you should really try to avoid having painted surfaces touching other painted surfaces.

• Faron79
    10 years ago

Many companies have been phasing-out Oils for years now.

ACE/Valspar is phasing-out their remaining Oil line, & IS NOT compatible with the newer 0-VOC Acrylic colorants that we're now phasing-in. Most ACE/Valspar dealers will be on the new system by years-end. We're a bigger retailer, so we got our new tinters/colorants last fall.

>>> We can no longer tint Oils!!

For a few years now, the better choice for Cabinets & Woodwork, are the "Hybrid" paints, which are Waterborne-Alkyds. Also, there's a form of Polyurethane-resin(s) in this class of paints. These also "level" better too...assuming one doesn't "overwork" the paint.

Check with an FPE-Retailer too. They do still import some STUNNING Gloss Oils. Your prep-work to show this stuff off HAS to be impeccable though! They have some awesome Hybrids though too. Prices though? Wellllll...open your wallet wider than normal...

Faron

• PRO
    Christopher Nelson Wallcovering and Painting
    10 years ago