Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
primdawg

Best time to remove tape?

I am about to put my third and final goat of dark green on the bottom 3ft of my wall. I remember some DIY show saying to remove the tape while the paint is still drying, not to wait until it is dry. Is this correct or am I having a phantom memory LOL? At this point I am going to have to wait until tomorrow to do the last coat since I'm just too whipped to do anymore painting tonight.

Annette

Comments (8)

• hamptonmeadow
    17 years ago

I don't know either, but I do need to know, so somebody please jump in and reveal the big secret here.

• irislover7b
    17 years ago

I don't know when the best time to do it is, but I always take it off before the paint dries, and so far I've never had a problem. I just have to be careful not to get the wet paint on the tape onto anything else.

• wildflower
    17 years ago

I'm no expert here at all but have just been visiting this forum to get some different ideas...Last week I was painting some quarter round white on top of a dark parkay floor and used the blue tape for the my 1st time ever. I had to use 2 coats on the quarter round and waited until the following day to pull the tape up. I used a utility knife up against the edge of the tape while I was pulling to make a clean edge. It turned out looking perfect so I'd recommend that it you can't pull it before the paint dries.

• zobeet
    17 years ago

There seems to be disagreement:

http://homerenovations.about.com/od/wallsandtrim/ht/howtomaskroom.htm

http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/repair/msg0621085428445.html?4

If you wait for the paint to dry it's harder to pull the tape off. If the paint's wet, greater chance of seepage. I guess you have to 'pick your poison'.

• lmm1845
    17 years ago