Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mybrowneyedgirls

Using FPE on kitchen cabinets-Does it require a professional?

mybrowneyedgirls
14 years ago

I am not a professional painter, just a homeowner wanting the very best possible result from painting my builder-grade oak cabinets white. I have had a really hard time finding a good professional painter. Everyone seems to want to cut corners, and I know that the final result is heavily based on the initial prep. I have interviewed at least 5 or 6 different painters, but none that I trust will properly prepare the cabinets before painting. Some won't sand but only prime, another won't use a brush and insists on using a roller (I don't want a stippled texture), another only sands but won't degrease, etc.

So I am considering doing the job myself, using FPE's Eco paint. I have never worked with this particular paint. I have also never painted cabinets. I would much prefer to have someone else do the painting, but I know that I will not cut any corners if I do it myself. Is this a job best left to the professionals, especially using this type of paint? Is the FPE Eco paint something a novice could use? It is super expensive ($115/gallon plus shipping) but I am willing to pay because of the high quality and very low voc's. How would you guys suggest I proceed? I appreciate any advice!

Comments (10)

• Faron79
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If they won't sand or degrease...keep interviewing...seriously!

With surfaces like that...you see/touch/clean/bump....everyday...the best only makes sense. This obviously requires meticulous prep though!

You can do this...it just takes time, good technique/brushes/paint.

Do you have some kiddie-pools/large-shallow tubs and a fan?! I'll explain later!!! ;-)

Faron

• mybrowneyedgirls
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Faron, no kiddie pools, but I'm sure I can pick a few up somewhere. Why?