Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andrea00_gw

Clutter Problem

andrea00
17 years ago

Ok, I admit it. I have a problem. But I have been working for 2 years to get rid of excess and clutter. I have made some great strides with the help of a friend and an organizer. Still, I'm having issues with how to keep the problem from developing. How to make decisions sooner, the first time I handle something, instead of creating another job for myself. Part of it is lack of appropriate storage for the way we actually live--a place to put things. And part of it is the tendency to accumulate.

I know I've gotten better because now I go through the mail and throw things right away, but I still keep some things. Anyway, there is a lot more I could say. But I am hoping that some of you who have been down this road can provide me with some encouragement to keep at it.

There is the stuff from years ago that I failed to make appropriate decisions about then. And the daily onslaught of mail, kids projects, activities etc. I feel like I am not really living my life, I'm just on hold.

Thanks for listening and any comments.

Comments (19)

• steve_o
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

A couple of comments:

First, congratulate yourself for the progress you've made so far. It's so easy to beat up ourselves for not having made the progress we'd like/we'd hoped to/we feel we need to and to not recognize how much better we are now than we were. You didn't become like this overnight and you won't resolve the problem overnight. Give yourself some atta-whatevers for what you've done so far.