Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mommabird_gw

That long deep bottom cabinet beside the dishwasher

mommabird
11 years ago

I have a really awkward bottom cabinet that goes all the way back in the corner beside my dishwasher. Things get shoved back there and fall into the Black Hole. It is impossible to reach anything without removing everything from the front/accessable part of the cabinet where the doors are.

Has anyone found a solution tob how to use this storage space to make it workable? My kitchen is tiny so I need to use every inch.

I've been fighting this Black Hole for 20 years.

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• marymarymaryk
    11 years ago

My corner cabinet has two big wooden lazy susans built into it, and it stores a ton of stuff in there,

• camlan
    11 years ago

Not quite sure about the configuration of your particular Black Hole cabinet, but what I've done with similar deep cabinets is to put things that get used only once or twice a year in the back.

Things like the big turkey roaster pan, and Christmas cookie cutters and the big platter for the Thanksgiving turkey. It's still a hassle to get them out, but I only have to go back there a few times a year.

The front, more accessible part has things that I use all the time.

You could also consider not using that awkward space, and adding more storage to your kitchen with some free-standing shelves, or wall-mounted shelves. Or storing seldom-used things elsewhere, like the garage or basement.

• JennaVaNowSC
    11 years ago

I have a very narrow, deep cabinet next to mine. And,like you, I found things got lost and I could barely reach to the back. I bought a narrow plastic storage unit with drawers at Target. Pull it to the front, but it is almost as deep as the cabinet. In the drawers, I store Dish towels, one drawer is for those plastic grocery bags I save to line small trash cans etc, there are four drawers altogether, so two of them hold seldom used serving pieces, holiday placemats etc.