Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dawnp_gw

Saying goodbye to a hobby

dawnp
11 years ago

Gretchen Rubin, the author of the book "The Happiness Project" was on The Today Show today and brought up a point that was helpful to me.

She said that if you have a project hanging around or a hobby hanging around that you're just no longer interested in doing, that these things weigh you down mentally and that you should pass them on.

I am a crafter/scrap booker/sewer/tole painter... and have some unfinished projects and lots of unused supplies. I spent years doing Creative Memories scrapbooks for my kids but of course none of them are completely finished and my youngest is about to graduate high school. I am going to give this a reasonable period of time and then get rid of all the scrap booking stuff because it really does hang over my head. It's all still in my craft room and every time I walk by it I feel guilty. Yet, I always seem to find something else to do.

I also went through a phase where I was taking tole painting classes but haven't touched all those paints(200+ bottles) in years. I doubt I will ever go back to that hobby. I think it's time to pass on all but the most basic colors.

This could apply to anything you're no longer doing like a sport, cooking, whatever.

She "gave me permission" to get this extra clutter out of my home guilt free.

Do any of you hang on to old hobby/interest stuff "just in case"?

Comments (31)

• talley_sue_nyc
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Oh, I did this! For the same reason. I realized that holding on to all the fabric was me holding on to my identity as a sewer. And that it was OK to not be a sewer for a little while. That it didn't have to be a *PERMANENT* re-identification of myself.

So I got rid of my fabric stash. It was very, very freeing.