Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
talley_sue_nyc

organizing my office at work

talley_sue_nyc
17 years ago

I moved offices a little more than a month ago, in the middle of back-to-back deadlines.

I sort of set it up, then discovered a box of stuff that hadn't gotten moved, and also realized that bulletin boards, etc., aren't in the same space.

So, I'm going to try to apply my organizing skills here.

And, I'm going to start w/ listing "what things do I need place for?", helped by the frustratiosn of the last month, and not being able to put things in a good spot.

(I work as an associate managing editor of a magazine, and supervise copyeditors & fact-checkers, so that affects wha sort of stuff I have to handle)

*bluelines (oversize 11x17 proofs of the stories we've sent to the separator)

-those needing to be read

-those that have been read

(sometimes I can combine these; I'm thinking I'll ask folks to deliver these not to me but to my copyeditor; all I'd do is give them to her anyway; she can stash the unread ones, and bring them to me when they're read--in the old arrangement, everone desks were outside my office, and they could come in and get them--but eventually they didn't come get them anyway)

*bags of matchprints waiting for me to match them w/ bluelines

-I used my "in" box for this before; I might be able to again.

*in box Right now it's on the end of my long counter-like desk, and it may stay there, I think. Just need to keep it weeded out.

*dictionary

*Food Lovers Companion

*Chicago Manual of Style

*recent issues (I've changed, here--the over-desk shelves are really high, so I've emptied out my "tidy desk" vertical sorter thingie, and stashed the two most recent issues in there

*clipboard w/ current=issue paperwork (I can stick this in the "tidy desk" as well