Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
azmom_gw

How do you dispose reading material?

azmom
9 years ago

I love to read. Now I want to downsize reading material - books, magazines, newspaper clips, brochures..etc. but I feel quite indecisive as which one to dispose.

How do you clean out your reading material? how do you make the keep/toss decision?

Comments (19)

• grainlady_ks
    9 years ago

I've had a lot of experience having owned a large private library. About half of the library was pre-WWI copies. It's like getting rid of your best friend! Now I am down to only about 3,000 books.

Our recycling center will accept paper (magazines, newspapers, brochures and some books) and the thrift stores take books and some magazines (especially craft or cooking magazines).

If the book collection has any value, you may be able to trade them to a used book store for credit or sell them outright. I've sold everything from early copies of children's Golden Books to collectable cookbooks.

I have also sent boxes of books to the war zones (son-in-law is an Army Officer), where they are much appreciated.

Check with your local library, they may have an annual book sale and you may be able to contribute them to the library. Our Symphony Guild also has an annual book sale.

I've donated children's books to an after-school reading program at the Catholic Church.

I read about a small community, not far from here, starting a lending library in the local paper and I took them about a thousand books.

A friend was a member of a small church and I donated a number of religious books to them.

If you need a new hobby, you can convert paper (including junk mail) to homemade paper with a new use. I make all my greeting, note, and Christmas cards, gift tags, some gift items, wrapping paper, etc., with homemade paper.

-Grainlady

• talley_sue_nyc
    9 years ago

Throw away all the things!!

Seriously, though, I work in publishing. Magazines, newspapers, etc.

Throw them all out.