Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alisande_gw

Organizing photographs...sort of.

alisande
17 years ago

I've been an avid photographer my whole life, following in my dad's footsteps. When my kids were small I filled a number of albums, but now they're deteriorating. The bulk of my photos are in under-bed storage. A lot of good they're doing there!

Some time back I bought some photo boxes and just dropped the pictures in as I acquired them. But that hasn't been very satisfactory either. For one thing, I wasn't writing on all the photo backs to identify them. For another, flipping through a box jammed with photos isn't as much fun as turning the pages of an album, and all that handling is not good for the pix.

Sooo....I recently bought a bunch of albums at Target. Each holds 300 photos, and costs about $15-17. The quality seems good (acid-free, etc.), the pictures slide in easily, and there's a nice space to write something beside each one. I've been keeping one on an end table, along with a showbox full of pictures, and just putting them in as I pick them up. I heard someone say once, "Who would want a whole mixture of years in one photo album?" Well, me. I can't imagine attempting to put all my photos in some kind of order, be it chronological or other category. Plus I think it's rather fun to open up an album and be surprised as you go along, rather than glaze over from viewing 300 photos of the same three toddlers.

When I need a break from whatever I'm working on, I sit down and add to an album. It's relaxing (and productive).

Susan

Comments (5)

• wooderlander
    17 years ago

Susan, thank you for freeing me from the idea that I had to put our thousands of photos into date and subject order before organizing them into albums that people could actually look at. For years, that's what has stopped me from doing anything at all. Now I feel that I might actually get started on them.