Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robin_dc

When is it OK to just 'throw it away?'

robin_DC
18 years ago

Hi. I've been on other parts of gardenweb for a long time, but I'm new to the organizing forum. I am pretty good about keeping things organized in the main living areas, but I have a couple of 'problems' that come up repeatedly. One is not having a "place" for certain things (so those items are the clutter I clean over and over; haven't yet figured out the best 'homes' for them in the current house but that's the subject of another thread...).

The other is the fact that recycling, donating, etc. becomes one more chore that I don't have time to do or that I put off because other things on the to-do list seem more pressing (I work 50-60 hours a week, plus commute time, and am currently planning a wedding, so I'm not kidding when I say I'm low on time). I keep up with the recycling of newspaper/magazines/boxes/junk mail circulars pretty well, but it certainly would be faster if I just threw things in the trash.

But then there are the household things, decorating items, and clothes, which I feel like I should give away vs. throwing away. Well unless I stumble upon a free pick-up in my neighborhood, I just don't manage to give them away. Instead the boxes of things 'to donate' either clutter my car, or my house.

My mom, who's very neat and clutter free, just puts everything in the trash (she is amazed at the time I spend bagging up newspapers and magazines and breaking down boxes for recycling). My fiance (also very neat) recycles, but didn't even know there was such a thing as goodwill(!!) till I mentioned it to him.

Anyway I know from lurking that you guys often have good advice. Any tips?

Comments (69)

• Karen_sl
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Ok, we did the sons room...and he is the one that said...lets do goodwill bags and I will take the stuff this afternoon.