Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frig0018_gw

Gear storage?

frig0018
13 years ago

Does anyone have any good ideas for storing camping/skiing/hiking/climbing gear etc? I'm a college student who just moved into a one bedroom with no closets or cupboards whatsoever. My budget is very limited and its a rental (aka no permanent or wall damaging fixtures...) Right now its all just in a heap in the corner.

Comments (7)

• jlt37869
    13 years ago

Well, back in the day and way before I had furniture, I used two wooden crates that were used to ship merchandise to stores. They were good size (maybe 2ftx3ftx18in high). My Mom got them free from Sears (like how you get free boxes from stores). I put my scuba stuff in one and my ski stuff in the other (except the skis themselves were in my ski bag propped in the corner of my room). The wooden crates were really sturdy and doubled as "furniture". I had my tv on one and the other I put a rug on it and used it as a nightstand/bench. That was so many years ago and those crates are long gone, however, I still see similar ones listed on craig's list once in awhile (in the free section).

A few other potential craig list finds that might work for you - a free standing coat rack (usually metal on wheels), a free standing storage closet/bin (I'm thinking of the white ones made out of press board), display or shelving racks?!?

Do you have any room under your bed? If that's already taken, can you raise or loft your bed to further utilize the space underneath?

I was beyond broke in college, but if you have the funds you might want to go ahead and invest in some decent storage for your gear. Check out Rubbermaid's Actionpacker line, it's not the flimsy plastic stuff, but heavy duty so you can stack stuff and/or sit on them.

Good luck.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• karinl
    13 years ago