Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sauce Freezing Question

Posted by LIGirlatHeart (My Page) on
Fri, Nov 15, 02 at 12:29

Hi all. This may seem like a silly question, but I'd like to get some input from people with experience. I'd love to start making my own sauce in big batches and freezing it, but how exactly would I freeze it? I don't want to freeze it in huge batches because i'd only be cooking for two, but at the same time, I don't want hundreds of the smaller containers to be the only thing in my freezer. Any thoughts? (also, do I need to wait until it's cool before i freeze? Yes, I'm completely new to the 'making and freezing' thing :) ) Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sauce Freezing Question

What kind of "sauce"....Cheese, tomato, chocolate, hollendaise, bechamel...or all of the above?
Linda C

o

Whoops :) A basic tomato sauce would be all

o

Portion it and put it in Ziplocks. Press all the air out and you have nice flat bags that can be stacked easily and don't take up much space. Alternate the zipper part when you stack so they don't topple over. Use a permanent marker to write the name & date.

o

Not a silly question at all, when I'm making tomato sauce for pasta it might as well be a big batch as a small!!

I do what weed does but I freeze them flat on a cookie sheet and then stack them....otherwise mine seem to stick together!

o

And I freeze apple sauce that way too....and turkey and gravy and chili....
Linda C

o

If you have trouble stacking the bags or want to organize your freezer better, look for shallow baskets the same width as the ziplocs and stand them up after they are frozen. Spaghetti sauce in one, applesauce in another, etc...
Lisa

o

We make and freeze our own tomato sauce every year. We aim for one container per week for the year (so around 52) and a few extras for when I need a larger amount. I used to do the ziploc thing, but now I prefer the stackability of plastic containers.