Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
help - I am new to menus - once a week/month

Posted by Debbie_in_Canada (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 4, 01 at 12:18

I have to cut back on my grocery bill and feed (well) my family of 5 - three boys!

Where do I start - are there any websites with premade menus and shopping lists to try........

This seems really time consuming...........I dont know where to begin and how to figure out where to start??

How often do you shop? How often do you use fresh?

As you can see I am very interested but very confused.

thanks for helping me!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: help - I am new to menus - once a week/month

Debbie, If you go to www.Google.com and put in "Meal Planning" they will give you all kinds of options to choose from. A few of them offer various menus , as well as grocery lists etc. You can probably find out more than you want to know at one of these sites. As an example this site offers a seven day plan and has a grocery list as well.
http://www.heb.com/heb/food/foodMP.jsp. Have fun. Ann

o

Debbie, go to frugal-moms.com search for OAMC they have a bunch of info on this...I just need a freezer big enough!

Debby in Ohio

o

I tend to shop weekly but that's because my husband gets paid weekly. I always, always, make a menu first, then from that menu I prepare my grocery list.

You can make your own list of meals you like real simple. Just keep track of your weekly menus on your computer and compile them together. I like to try a new recipe about 2-3 times a month, if it's a keeper I then put it on my list. After about a month or two of keeping your menus you will find that you have a good amount of meals to choose from. Not bad.

Keeping a menu WILL help you to save money $$ I find that since I have a menu plan that I am less likely to fall prey to the fast foods detour ;)

Good luck and let us know how you do! I'd like to here more!

o