Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
over appreciated

Posted by
Don
(Don@Maggard.com) on
Tue, Aug 21, 01 at 15:49

My wife thinks everything I cook is delicious. Do you think she is taking advantage of me? I am not that good at cooking but I try!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: over appreciated

She knows when she has a good thing going ;)

o

It's probably two things - 1) you probably are a better cook than you give yourself credit for and 2) she knows a good thing when she sees it! even if your food is mediocre one day, she knows if she praises your efforts, you're more likely to keep cooking!

o

Things always taste better to me when someone else makes it and- I am more critical of my own cooking. Keep up the good work! It is fun to do things others appreciate.

o

Yeah Right!

o

My husband is and excellent cook even though he doesnt think he is as good as I do and it is a little better when you dont do it yourself. Heck since my grandfather retired he cooks almost every night and he never did when he worked. Good thing he loves it my grandmother is a good cook and did it for all those years but she always hated cooking.

o

Over appreciated? Who knows? My husband can do limited cooking and does make meals for us occassionally, when I just don't feel up to the task. But he also has one of those recessive sex linked characteristics where he fails to realize he makes a mess and thus creates more work for me in the clean up than cooking the meal would have been in the long run. That's not to say that he doesn't try his best. If you happen to have the dominant gene for the trait and also clean up your mess after cooking, then your wife probably over appreciates you. It you have that recessive gene trait and leave a mess trail behind you for her to clean, then she just probably enjoys your cooking style.