Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
OAMC Starter Ideas

Posted by bouchard8600 (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 15, 07 at 15:26

I'm new to the concept of OAMC. When I first heard of the concept I got all excited and started making all kinds of foods only to find out that DH is not too sure of the idea of eating premade frozen foods. To him it is too much like leftovers, which he absolutely hates!! I was wondering if anybody has any ideas on staples foods that can be prepared and frozen. This way I can make my meals based around food that has already been made to cut down on cooking time.
I am aware of the usual staples like spagetti sauce, lasagna, and things of that nature. Anybody got any other ideas???

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: OAMC Starter Ideas

Bouchard, I'm only a lurker here but maybe I can help. I don't use this method so much anymore - children are grown and gone and cooking has really changed! But back in the day I would take a day for quantity cooking now and then (not so much on a schedule as keeping an eye on the grocery sales and on my "frozen assets". I didn't prepare complete menus or even dishes to serve, rather I would simmer a flock of chickens so that I would have a big pot of stock and enough cooked chicken for a lot of meals - everything from chicken salad to soups to casseroles. I would make enough meatballs (bake them rather than cooking them in a skillet - way easier and faster) for all kinds of recipes: spaghetti (of course) but also sandwiches, in a mushroom cream sauce over rice, etc., etc. You get the idea?