Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Grocery Price Book

Posted by
anne
(annepv@rocketmail.com) on
Sat, Aug 4, 01 at 0:22

Looking for some advice - I usually just lurk but I'm trying to get into OAMC so here I am, asking for help.
I think I'm making this Price Book thing harder than it has to be. I'm having some trouble making one for my groceries - I've never used one before so I'm only just getting the hang of it.
I've used an excel spreadsheet with all the local markets down the side and all my items across the top. I write in size, price and then price per unit so I can compare.
Now, do I write down only the sales price or the regular price? How do I work out when it will probably go on sale again so I can stock up until then? Is there anything I'm leaving out that will help me?
And finally, generic vs brand name, I think generic is fine but are there any products for which you actually prefer a brandname?
Please share your methods with me. Thanks very much.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Grocery Price Book

I am anxious to see the answers here as I have thought about doing this too but it seems like so much work.

o

Well.....I think that you are supposed to have a sheet for each item. Then you will have the prices at the different stores, sales and regular prices. Then when you get a few of the sales in, you will see a pattern in the timing of the item on sale. I don't know if this is making any sense. But, it is like for paper towels, I have found that my best buy is to wait for them to be on sale at Target. I haven't yet got my price book going (just starting), but I think they go on sale every 8 to 10 weeks. Once I get that really figured out, I will know how many to buy at the sale price to get me through to the next sale. Also, I will know where to go if there is one of those mishaps where a roll fell in the sink and got soaked and I don't quite make it to the next big purchase. Hope that helped...

o