Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Having a baby and cooking ahead

Posted by
andrealbird
(mrs.bird@home.com) on
Tue, Jun 19, 01 at 14:32

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this whole once a month cooking thing and I'm really looking forward to all your great advice. I've read through the archives and I can't wait to get started. My husband and I are expecting our first baby in January and I'm really looking forward to getting meals cooked and frozen before the baby comes so that we can enjoy the baby and not have to worry about cooking!

Here's a few questions off the top of my head...

1. Can you freeze meals other than casseroles? What kinds of things can you freeze? I like casseroles, but I have a feeling I'll get sick of eating them everyday... I know DH will!

2. How long will things last frozen? If I cook and freeze starting in July will things still be good in January and beyond?

Thanks Friends!
Andrea

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Having a baby and cooking ahead

You can freeze lasagna, tetrazzini, side dishes, meats, pretty much anything you can think of.

Maybe this site will help.

Here is a link that might be useful: Make Your Own Freezer Mixes

o

Do you want to freeze foods for u and hubby or make some baby food ahead of time and freeze that as well. Well you just had a baby relax, have a pizza or sub or order out or make hubby make meals. I know hubby has hard days but hell whos sucking on whos boob? C'mon he can make them let him help out abit. Other than that make spaghettisauce, lasgana, homemade tv dinners, or make hamburgers ahead and freese anything that works well for u and feel comfortable but i still feel hubby should help out even if it comes out of a box.

o