Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I Love this place

Posted by
Jane in CT
(mamabirdx5@netzero.net) on
Fri, May 11, 01 at 8:01

I'm a SAHM 10 year veteran homeschooler who is trying to learn to be a OAWC. I've recently discover this forum and love it. I am not quite a OAWC yet but am starting to get closer. With our large family of 7 I'm starting to think ahead. Like when I make a batch of rice for a meal I will double it and put it in the fridge to use in a stir fried meal a couple of days later. When I cook in my crock pots (I do try to think ahead and get them both working at the same time) I like to make big batches and reheat the remainder for a side dish for another meal. But most of all I find that if I don't freeze the extras or *mark them* for another meal that my family will just eat it away at lunch time or just for a snack, With 4 of my 5 kids being growing sons homeschooling they think that the leftovers are free for the taking, there is little that can saved :o)) I still have a lot to learn :::grin:::

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I Love this place

Hi Jane...Welcome. Sounds like you have the right idea. Perhaps as one of your homeschool classes you could have the kiddos, select recipes, do shopping lists, shop, and prepare the meals. I bet they would get a kick out of it.

o
Children in the kitchen!?!