Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Having baby, need to fill freezer.

Posted by
Ilisa
(ilisa_n@hotmail.com) on
Fri, Apr 13, 01 at 16:53

Hi there, I'm new to this, but since I'm giving birth in a few weeks I thought it might be a good idea to stock up the freezer with meals for me, my husband and toddler.

Here's my list so far. Any suggestions of what to add would really be appreciated.

We are Jewish, so some meat is forbidden (ie shellfish, pork) and we don't mix milk and meat together (for tacos I use that Harvest burger ground tofu stuff).

I have an extra freezer in the basement and would love to fill it before this new baby comes. Thanks in advance.

Meatloaf
Sweet and Sour Meatballs
Stuffed Cabbage
Chicken pot pie
Vegetable Lasagne
Stuffed shells
Tomato Basil Soup (I have the most tremendous recipe for this if anyone would like it)
Chicken Soup
Chili
Mac and Cheese
Chicken and rice casserole

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Having baby, need to fill freezer.

Ilisa, I'm in a similar boat, giving birth in June.....love your list, been looking for just this kind of thing!!

Three other things I'm adding to mine:

Veggie Gumbo (chicken or beef would work too!)
Veggie packed Spaghetti Sauce (you could add whatever meat to it too!) all I have to do is cook noodles!
Jambalaya

Would love your Tomato Basil soup recipe!!

take care.
Grumpy!

o

You might check out the Vegetarian Forum. Also your library should have some Vegetarian magazines. I know the book stores do. If you know someone in the Adventist Church, or are near a ABC bookstore there are a lot of excellent receipes avaiable. My books are back in ND, but I could get you some names etc. Also any Christian bookstore has cookbooks.
marie

o

Thanks, Grumpy! Great things to add to my list.

Here's the soup recipe, it's from a chain of soup take-out restaurants in Manhattan called the Daily Soup.

Tomato Soup

2 T unsalted butter