Return to the Once-a-Week Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Just bought a chest freezer..need to fill!

Posted by CathyCDK (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 12, 02 at 22:43

Hello everyone :)
We just bought a 15 cu. ft. chest freezer that will be delivered next week. How in the world do we fill it so that it will run efficiently without bankrupting our food budget? I know that eventually it will really help us save by stocking up and cooking ahead, but the thought of a half empty freezer wasting energy turns my stomach.
Thanks for you suggestions.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Just bought a chest freezer..need to fill!

I made lots of soups, stews and chilis to stock in mine. Also great to buy bulk meat. Get a family pack of hamburger or chicken etc.. and break it down into meal size bags, if you are having company take out 2. Sometimes you can get deals at local meat plants on cases of sausage, hot dogs or chicken breasts.

o

I'm no expert and don't have a freezer myself but I think I read that they are more efficient when full, even if it's just ice in there. So if you can only fill it up half way, try jugs of water in there for ice. Can someone confirm this or set me straight?

o

Great idea! you are right they are more efficient when full so if there is too much space anything in it helps although a pain when you need something below.

o

Buy ice cream in bulk!

I also keep a platter from Pampered Chef that keeps things cold in my extra freezer. It needs to freeze for a few hours before using, and I always forget to do it when I need to, so now I just keep it in there. The same with the tub for my ice cream maker. Who wants to wait the 6+ hours for that thing to freeze up?

o