Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wavy_glass

Emergency heat source?

wavy_glass
14 years ago

Hi all, A newbie here in many areas: new to forum, new to home ownership, and new to old-home ownership.

Our house is 81 years old with plaster walls, no insulation in the walls (that I know of) and old wavy glass windows (hence my name; I keep needing to play up the virtue of these windows in my own mind, so I don't curse myself when the exterior storms, rope caulking, and foam pulley-hole insulation fails to keep all the cool air out).

We have a pretty efficient gas furnace in the basement. But I assume that with winter upon us, and living in WI in a neighborhood with old trees and long branches, I need to be prepared for a power outage.

My question: what do people use for emergency heat (other than wood, which is not an option for us)? I assume my furnace needs electricity to operate, and I assume I should be prepared for my furnace to fail, so I need to add something in case of emergencies. Is the default choice some sort of portable kerosene heater, or are there propane heaters that people like?

Thanks for any and all responses!

Comments (26)

• worthy
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

We have three natural gas fireplaces. (And lots of warm clothes.)

• wavy_glass
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks. My wife won't let me put in a natural gas fireplace on the living floors. Would one in the basement be a cost-effective emergency heat source?

I should be clear here: I'm looking for a way to keep pipes from bursting, etc. I don't necessarily need the heat to make the house comfortably livable. We can always shack up with friends.

• slateberry
    14 years ago

Have you considered a backup generator? There are some good discussions of them, I can't remember which forum, perhaps electrical wiring. Search function on gw appears to be out right now or I'd give a link.

• wavy_glass
    Original Author
    14 years ago