Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
princeton_tiger

What are these walls?

George Dorer
16 years ago

DW and I are preparing her mother's house for an estate sale. The house was built in 1929. The walls are not plaster and lathe - nor are they drywall. They seem to be a stiff thin material - something like masonite or homasote.

There are vertical cracks - where the panels butt up against each other. How do I fix these? Paper tape and spackle?

All replies welcomed.

Comments (13)

• worthy
    16 years ago

When I used to reno older homes, my inclination was to either strip it to the frame or patch it up as best I could, imperfections and all. Try a couple of the seams and see what it looks like. Rather than taping, I would secure the edges tight and fill. (If you're a taper by trade, it's a different story.) The cracks will reappear. But maybe you can sell by that time.

• jegr
    16 years ago

Wall paper might be an easier solution.

• calliope
    16 years ago

I'd also like to know what this type of wall material is called. It's common around here in older farmhouses and vacation homes and can be a peewilly to try to make attractive. My son just removed it in his farmhouse and hung drywall.

I've tried googling it to find out the proper name for this stuff, but haven't had any luck. Does anyone know?

• kec01
    16 years ago

Could it be beaverboard which was a compressed wood product that was used in the 1920's and 30's? That stuff was a cheaper wall solution than plaster. If it is this, it's pretty flamable and dents easily.

I'd rip it out and hang sheetrock.

• jegr
    16 years ago

Beaver board was used into the '50s, and has to be painted with Kilz to stop the glue(?) from seeping through when paint is applied. It's brown and kind of flaky with an outer paper layer. Mine, on an enclosed porch, has 3 grooves every 16" to make it look like paneling.

• tryinbrian
    16 years ago