Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
old_house_j_i_m

Trim Color Survey

old_house_j_i_m
12 years ago

I'll admit it ... I am color obsessive. I had primer remixed 3 times to get it right. I am pretty competent with late Victorian color combos - I work as an artist so Im really in tune to very subtle color nuance.

Here's my trouble, and I am really hoping some of you can help me out: The Parlor, which admittedly wont be painted for about a year or more, is going to be blue and gold. Well, not just any blue and gold, but rich cobalt and peacock blue, like Lord Leightons stair hall blue, glossy multi-layered blue paint on Anaglypta for the dado and dead flat thin washes of gold over gold over gold for the rest of the wall. The ceiling is cofferred and will probably end up some shade of pale olive with gold leaf in there somewhere.

The woodwork is typical late 19th early 20th century greek revival interior (no corner blocks) and is oak that was originally shellacked but has been painted in at least 7 layers. I would prefer to repaint rather than strip.

I was planning to paint the trim a deep walnut brown, but secretly wanted the trim black, again, like Leightons stair hall. then I thought of a deeper shade of peacock blue to reconnect the dado to the trim and really ground the room. then deep green (for a similar reason). now im stuck. I dont care for the brown, the black is kind of overwhelming (I could live with it just fine, but not the rest of the family) and White is absolutely forbidden here.

So ... any thought ? (sorry, no pics since this is still in the planning stages, but check out this amazing 3-d tour of Leighton House - the room im so into is the stair hall/hall of narcisus:

http://www.rbkc.gov.uk/leightonarabhall/accessible/stairs.html

Comments (13)

• Billl
    12 years ago