Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rudebekia

Chimney Repair question

Rudebekia
9 years ago

I'm new to my 1915 Craftsman home and badly want to use the wood burning fireplace this winter. I was told by my house inspector that the brickwork needed attention and the rain cap was gone.

So far I've had two estimates. The first company has more than 100 reviews on angieslist--overwhelmingly excellent. They gave a free estimate. They looked up the fireplace from the inside and down from the roof--took about 20 minutes. Their quote was $2200.for masonary/tuckpointing work and a chimnilator (not sure I'm spelling that correctly,but it is a damper and rain cap combined.)

The second company has 7 excellent recommendations on angieslist. They did a much more extensive video estimate, for which I paid $349 (the chimney did not need cleaning). It took more than an hour. They recommended in no uncertain terms that the chimney be completely rebuilt from the roofline up, new rain cap, internal tile work, new damper. The video confirmed that the bricks need mortar in places and has been patched many times with different materials. Beyond that it looked ok. They gave me a price for a rain cap and damper but said I needed to call someone else for the masonry work. They could only recommend one local mason although I pressed them for several names since I said that I'd need to get several estimates. So I would think by the time all this is added up it could amount to $5000-8000, if not more.

Any thoughts on how to navigate these two estimates? I suppose the answer is "get a third" but I really don't want to pay another chunk of money for an estimate. I am a single female and have been warned that this can be an area where people take advantage-- ie. where there's a lot of ignorance/fear factor.

Comments (6)

• tibbrix
    9 years ago

Go with the first guy for the @2200. Then have the inspector come back and inspect the chimney again.

Do have him put a liner in the chimney.

• jmc01