Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kudzu9

Wallpaper removal from old plaster

kudzu9
16 years ago

I'm helping my daughter renovate her newly acquired 1920's fixerupper. A couple of the plaster walls have well-adhered old wallpaper. Is it possible to remove the paper without damaging the plaster? I've done a lot of successful removal from sheetrock, but not plaster. Also, what are the best techniques on plaster. Thanks?

Comments (9)

• kim2007
    16 years ago

Hi--I would imagine it would be easier to remove wallpaper from plaster walls than sheetrock. Some people swear by wallpaper steamers, and if that sounds easiest to you then check it out. I've never used one before, so I can't say. My own experience removing up to 14 layers of old wallpaper from the plaster walls of our early 1890's home involved scraping off the outer layer(s) of stiff, painted-over paper with a razor scraper, and then using a warm solution of DIF wallpaper remover rolled on with a paint roller on the remaining layers, scraping it all off with a putty knife and razor scraper. It takes time, but it really depends on the papers/adhesives used and the condition of the underlying plaster. The remaining glue and remover residue is then washed off with TSP. Expect some cracks and other decay in the plaster, and understand that old plaster can look really-really bad and still be salvageable, depending on how much effort you want to put into it. Our repaired plaster walls have some imperfections, and I came to realize that it was unrealistic to expect that they'd ever have the perfectly smooth appearance of sheetrock walls, but I love them all the same. Good luck and don't get discouraged--old plaster walls that have been saved are a wonderful surface and you won't regret bringing them back.

• calliope
    16 years ago