Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bar_d

Making a barn livable space...

Bar_D
12 years ago

We have a few acres with a small house and a large barn on property. Because the house is so small, and we have a soon to be college student who will be living at home, we thought about possibly converting part of the barn as an apt...nothing extremely fancy. Just looking for general advice about how doable this is. A section of the barn has a concrete floor, walls, etc., but it is an older structure. The outside walls are basically just boards with small space between. How do you insulate or create an inside wall? The room is open at top all the way to rafters, so we would probably have to create a ceiling of sorts. As you can tell, I'm a real novice...just trying to collect ideas right now. I have a few pictures, but don't know how to display here.

Thanks so much for any suggestions.

Comments (10)

• Ian80
    12 years ago

It is very doable depending on your goals and budget. I'm working on such a project at the moment. How large of a barn is it? Is it an old post and beam barn? What was the barn used for? Hay, animals, equipment?
    From the little that you've described I'd probably remove all the barn boards, build proper exterior walls between the existing posts/columns sheath the whole thing and then re-side with the barn-board. Having said that however there are numerous things to consider with such a project.

Can you post some images?

Ian

• liriodendron
    12 years ago

OK: here's few thing to think about.

1) water supply -where would you get it from?

2) sanitary waste disposal - it's gotta go somehwere, would it tie into your existing system? Would your local authorities require a whole new septic system? That could be big bucks.

3) Local authorities: You may need zoning or planning permission to do this as many areas regulate how many dwelling units can be on one lot, even for accessory apartments. Your taxes will increase for an accessory apartment.