Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blakeas

Older Window Mutins

blakeas
15 years ago

I have a home built in 86 - seems like the windows are original. The mutins on the outside of the window seem to have a problem. they are developing cracks and some of the wood is flaking off. it seems like the mutin is a 3 part wood. Can i just take the side of the mutin off and caulk to repair? Any suggestions?

Comments (16)

• mightyanvil
    15 years ago

Is the window putty glazed true-divided-light single-glazed or is it simulated-divided-light double-glazed?

I doubt that caulk would be a good solution in either case.

• blakeas
    Original Author
    15 years ago

"putty glazed true-divided-light single-glazed or is it simulated-divided-light double-glazed"

I am not sure as I am not an expert in these things. would a picture help? doubleglazed means 2 pieces of glass? I only think i have 1 pane of glass..

Well if caulk does not work than what should I do?

• worthy
    15 years ago

Unless this is a really picky custom house, I'm sure they're only simulated, ie., one piece of glass with wood on the outside to imitate the look of older windows. Exterior wood filler can be used. Since this is wood, expect to touch up and repaint every few years.

• mightyanvil
    15 years ago

Single glazed true divided light glass is probably installed from the outside with tiny metal clips and sealed to the muntins with putty. The putty has probably gotten brittle and is falling out. You will need to remove the rest of it and install new putty. I suggest you hire someone who knows how to do it.

• arlosmom
    15 years ago

Hi blakeas. I'm not a window pro, but have live in old houses. I looked at your pictures and I think mightanvil is correct. The glazing or putty is old and cracked. It needs to be removed and replaced. Its a fairly straightforward job for any house painter.

• blakeas
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I have a broken muntin or bottom pane part: