Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blackcats13

advice for getting estimates?

blackcats13
15 years ago

Not sure if I should post this here or in maybe remodeling (or both?), but I post here most often, so I'll start here. We are going to start getting quotes for fixing roof and siding. We will need done:

1. very soon, replace bottom 2 courses of rotting siding (can't afford to do whole house yet)

2. very soon, side around 2nd story window PO put in and never sided, looks like larger window was replaced with smaller for some reason (years ago according to neighbors, it "seems" to be well protected, hopefully). Or maybe put original sized window in instead.

3. within 1 or 2 max years, new tear off roof w/radiant barrier, possibly some flashing (spelling?) done in the meantime

4. NEEDS to be done but will have to wait a little bit, eventually replace all siding (insulated)

Our house was built in the 1920's. I've never done this before, what kind of things do I need to ask and watch out for when getting this info?

Comments (10)

• lucy
    15 years ago

Get in at least 3 contractors, general or specialized to the particular 'fix', and see what they say about how they'll approach each job, how long it'll all take, how much they'll charge (and how much they'll want upfront - if anything - for materials), and whether they have references you can call. Make your decision on various factors, not necessarily just the lowest price.

• janetgia
    15 years ago

I would also ask what their clean-up/removal procedure is. Make certain that your agreement includes them hauling away old materials and thoroughly cleaning your property of all debris and work materials. Make sure that any fees you'll be charged for disposal are disclosed up front.

Janet

• bill_vincent
    15 years ago

Join Angies List. It's worth the money.

• kec01
    15 years ago