Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abwheeler_gw

Lightening Old Brown Beadboard

abwheeler
11 years ago

We have an old summer home (1927) with a first floor bed room and bath with dark brown beadboard. For decades we have lived with a dark room that no one utilizes. We are finally ready to do something to make it brighter. We discussed painting it white but it seems such a travesty to paint the original beadboard. Does anyone have any suggestions for staining or bleaching it to a lighter color?

Comments (5)

• columbusguy1
    11 years ago

Without a picture, I can't help much...if the problem is just old varnish and shellac which has darkened over time, you can use paint stripper. If there is no finish and the wood itself has darkened, you may be able to do a wash over it--lime wash, I think? I have no experience with bleaching wood, but I'd think the results could be highly varied, and difficult to get an even tone over the whole area.

You might try a simple washing with tsp, perhaps there is just a lot of surface grime? As a last resort, sanding would be a possibility, but beading could mean a lot of detailed hand sanding.

• liriodendron
    11 years ago

Definitely try to see which solvent dissolves the finish. Alcohol will dissolve shellac; mineral spirits or turps will affect varnishes.

That being said, even after you find which product will remove the finish, you may still have a nasty mess on your hands as cleaning out the base of the groove in bead board can be a real pain: think dental tools and lots rags!